Object Title

Parsons Fashion Critics Awards

Part of

Collection: Parsons School of Design Fashion Design Department audiovisual recordings

Material Category
Physical Video
Video of the Parsons School of Design annual fashion show at the New York Marriott Marquis. The event honors Stanley Marcus, former president and chairman of Neiman Marcus. The video opens with a set of news clips. One clip is an interivew with Marie Essex, chair of the Parsons Fashion Design Department. Another clip features the recipient of the Student Designer of the Year Award, Marie Havens. Arnold H. Aronson, chair of Parsons Board of Governors and vice chair of the Board of Trustees at the New School University, confers the Parsons Award to Marcus. The President of Hermes and others toast Marcus. A video about textile design follows. The runway show starts. Designer Donald Brooks introduces the annual costume design showcase. The theme for this year's showcase is "Zodiac Dreams." The Gold Thimble Awards are presented. The Student Designer of the Year Award is announced by Randy Swearer, dean of Parsons.
April 27 1999
Related people
Parsons School of Design. Fashion Design Department (producer)
Bob Bogen Productions (producer)
Arnold H. Aronson (speaker)
Donald Brooks (speaker)
Randolph Swearer (speaker)
Stanley Marcus (guest)
Marie Havens (guest)
Parsons 1999 Fashion Critics Awards Show Bob Bogen Productions (718) 625-1405 (item-level)
Use Restrictions

There’s more! What you see on this site is only what is viewable online. Please visit archives.newschool.edu to find out more about what’s in the archives.