Object Title

Leica Medal of Excellence

Part of

Collection: New School-Parsons School of Design Photography Focus Lecture audio recordings ➔ Series: Photojournalism Focus (PC070202.03)

Material Category
Physical Audio
Type of Work
1/4 inch audio cassette
This is the recording of the third annual Leica Medal of Excellence award ceremony. An unidentified person introduces Benedict (Ben) Fernandez, who introduces Walter Heun. Heun announces the award winners: Stephen Shames, William Albert Allard, Harry Benson, Claudio Edinger, and Steve Rubin. Fernandez discusses Heun's role in the establishment of the Leica Medal of Excellence award. Fernandez then introduces Dmitri Baltermants, indicating that Baltermants will deliver a lecture following the ceremony.
circa June 10 1983
Related people
New School for Social Research (New York, N.Y. : 1919-1997) (producer)
Walter Heun (speaker)
Benedict J. Fernandez (speaker)
Leica Medal of Excellence 1983 (container)
Use Restrictions
box pav_9, cassette 2.4 A

There’s more! What you see on this site is only what is viewable online. Please visit archives.newschool.edu to find out more about what’s in the archives.