New School Mural Commission Documentation 1931 – 2010

Identifier: NS030501


The collection consists of documentation concerning the five artists who created works for the flagship building of The New School at 66 West 12th Street: Thomas Hart Benton (1889-1975), Camilo Egas (1889-1962), Gonzalo Fonseca (1922-1997), José Clemente Orozco (1883-1949), and Michel Cadoret de l'Epineguen (1912-1985). The materials in the collection were assembled by the curators of the New School Art Collection. Materials include correspondence, photographs, documentation of restoration efforts, exhibition catalogs, and promotional materials.

Finding Aid

Guide to the Collection

What you see here is only what is viewable online; in most cases it is only a small portion of what is available. Please visit the finding aid to access a detailed description of the collection.

Related people/organizations

Thomas Hart Benton
Camilo Egas
New School for Social Research (New York, N.Y. : 1919-1997)
José Clemente Orozco

Related collections

New School Art Center Records
New School Architectural Plans and Drawings for 66 West Twelfth Street

Related Objects (View with filters)